When breath becomes air

Book Cover
Published:
, 2016.
Format:
eBook
Physical Desc:
1 online resource
Status:
Overdrive (CMC)
Description

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air, which features a Foreword by Dr. Abraham Verghese and an Epilogue by Kalanithi's wife, Lucy, chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a young neurosurgeon at Stanford, guiding patients toward a deeper...

Also in This Series
Copies
Overdrive (CMC)
Citations
APA Citation (style guide)

Kalanithi, P. (2016). When breath becomes air.

Chicago / Turabian - Author Date Citation (style guide)

Kalanithi, Paul. 2016. When Breath Becomes Air. .

Chicago / Turabian - Humanities Citation (style guide)

Kalanithi, Paul, When Breath Becomes Air. , 2016.

MLA Citation (style guide)

Kalanithi, Paul. When Breath Becomes Air. 2016.

Note! Citation formats are based on standards as of July 2010. Citations contain only title, author, edition, publisher, and year published. Citations should be used as a guideline and should be double checked for accuracy.
More Like This
More Copies In Prospector
Loading Prospector Copies...
More Details
Language:
English
ISBN:
9780812988413 (electronic bk)

Notes

Description
For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air, which features a Foreword by Dr. Abraham Verghese and an Epilogue by Kalanithi's wife, Lucy, chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a young neurosurgeon at Stanford, guiding patients toward a deeper...
Reproduction
Electronic reproduction.,New York :,Random House,,2016.,Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 4988 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
Staff View
Grouped Work ID:
0de9d167-daea-69eb-c75c-af625c9205a6
Go To Grouped Work
Last File Modification Time Apr 05, 2018 09:57:21 AM
Last Grouped Work Modification Time Apr 24, 2019 03:04:20 PM

MARC Record

LEADER02678nam a2200349Ka 4500
001ODN0002302232
006m        d        
007cr cn---------
008151130s2016    nyu     s     000 0 eng d
020 |a 9780812988413 (electronic bk)
037 |a 3BF555E1-8C58-4685-8224-9C4BCD1270D0 |b OverDrive, Inc. |n http://www.overdrive.com
040 |a TEFOD |c TEFOD
1001 |a Kalanithi, Paul.
24510 |a When breath becomes air |h [electronic resource]. |c Paul Kalanithi.
260 |c 2016.
300 |a 1 online resource
336 |a text |b txt |2 rdacontent
337 |a computer |b c |2 rdamedia
338 |a online resource |b cr |2 rdacarrier
520 |a For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question: What makes a life worth living? At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor making a living treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. Just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air, which features a Foreword by Dr. Abraham Verghese and an Epilogue by Kalanithi's wife, Lucy, chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a naïve medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a young neurosurgeon at Stanford, guiding patients toward a deeper...
533 |a Electronic reproduction. |b New York : |c Random House, |d 2016. |n Requires OverDrive Read (file size: N/A KB) or Adobe Digital Editions (file size: 4988 KB) or Amazon Kindle (file size: N/A KB).
65017 |a Nonfiction. |2 OverDrive
650 7 |a Biography & Autobiography. |2 OverDrive
650 7 |a Medical. |2 OverDrive
650 7 |a Sociology. |2 OverDrive
655 7 |a Electronic books. |2 local
7761 |c Original |z 081298840X
85640 |u http://marmot.lib.overdrive.com/ContentDetails.htm?ID=3BF555E1-8C58-4685-8224-9C4BCD1270D0 |z CMC Online Access.
8564 |3 Excerpt |u http://samples.overdrive.com/?crid=3bf555e1-8c58-4685-8224-9c4bcd1270d0&.epub-sample.overdrive.com |z Sample
8564 |3 Image |u http://images.contentreserve.com/ImageType-100/0111-1/%7B3BF555E1-8C58-4685-8224-9C4BCD1270D0%7DImg100.jpg |z Large cover image
8564 |3 Thumbnail |u http://images.contentreserve.com/ImageType-200/0111-1/%7B3BF555E1-8C58-4685-8224-9C4BCD1270D0%7DImg200.jpg |z Thumbnail cover image
949 1 |h 139 |l cme |s j |t 188 |w Overdrive : External